Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Any Anne Boleyn Fans?

When this week's CFBA book selection arrived in the mail, I was thrilled. Ginger Garrett is one of my favorite authors - her books are filled with a richness and a depth that pulls me in and places me firmly in an unfamiliar setting and makes me feel at home. In the Shadow of Lions did not disappoint.

I admit I'm not a history buff - I think I've actually admitted that a few times on this blog. History was taught to me as facts and figures, but as an adult, I've learned to explore the people and the places of history, and found it intrigues me. Books like Ginger Garrett's bring history alive to me more than any textbook ever could.

I know little of Anne Boleyn, but after reading this book, I want to know more.

The first two chapters of In the Shadow of Lions hooked me completely. Very unique and powerful beginning. Then it skipped around a bit, and for a chapter or so I was confused, trying to figure out who was who, but later on, I realized layers were being placed upon layers and everything came into focus. I stayed up late to finish it because I couldn't put it down. Overall, a beautiful, rich, powerful book - and Ginger Garrett remains one of my favorites!






This week, the

is introducing

David C. Cook; 1 edition (September 2008)

by


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Ginger Garrett is the critically acclaimed author of Chosen: The Lost Diaries of Queen Esther, which was recognized as one of the top five novels of 2006 by the ECPA, and Dark Hour. An expert in ancient women's history, Ginger creates novels and nonfiction resources that explore the lives of historical women.

Her newest release is Beauty Secrets of the Bible, (September 11, Thomas Nelson) based on the historical research that began in her work on Chosen. The book explores the connections between beauty and spirituality, offering women both historical insights and scientific proofs that reveal powerful, natural beauty secrets.

A frequent radio guest on stations across the country, including NPR and Billy Graham's The Hour of Decision, Ginger is also a popular television guest. Her appearances include Harvest Television, Friends & Neighbors, and Babbie's House. Ginger frequently serves as a co-host on the inspirational cable program Deeper Living.

In 2007, Ginger was nominated for the Georgia Author of the Year Award for her novel Dark Hour. When she's not writing, you may spy Ginger hunting for vintage jewelry at thrift stores, running (slowly) in 5k and 10k races, or just trying to chase down one of her errant sheepdogs. A native Texan, she now resides in Georgia with her husband and three children.


ABOUT THE BOOK:


"I am the first writer, The Scribe. My books lie open before the Throne, and someday will be the only witness of your people and their time in this world."

So begins the narration of one such angel in this sweeping historical tale set during the reign of England's Henry VIII. It is the story of two women, their guardian angels, and a mysterious, subversive book ... a book that outrages some, inspires others, and launches the Protestant Reformation.

The devout Anne Boleyn catches the eye of a powerful king and uses her influence to champion an English translation of the Bible. Meanwhile, Rose, a broken, suicidal woman of the streets, is moved to seek God when she witnesses Thomas More's public displays of Christian charity, ignorant of his secret life spent eradicating the Bible, persecuting anyone who dares read it.

Historic figures come alive in this thrilling story of heroes and villains, saints and sinners, angels and mortals ... and the sacred book that will inspire you anew. Fans of Francine Rivers and Karen Kingsbury will love Ginger's intriguing combination of rich character development, artful settings, and inspiring historical insights.

To read an excerpt from In The Shadow Of Lions, click HERE.

1 comment:

Becky said...

This sounds absolutely fascinating. The cover AND the premise. :)

Becky
laney_poATyahoo.com